Vegan Princess in an Omni Kingdom

Adventures of a vegan girl living in an omni world.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies- Vegan Mofo Day #1 October 1, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Food,Vegan Mofo 2011 — bookie85 @ 8:17 PM
Tags:

Happy Mofo, blog readers! It is October and all this month I will be making all of the food that I thought sounded good from my extensive cookbook collection and the many recipes I have bookmarked from around the internet.

For day one I present to you the pumpkin chocolate chip cookies I made last night. I adapted the recipe from this one but I had to make some changes to accomodate what I had on hand, as I forgot to go grocery shopping before starting to bake, but I think the changes worked out fairly well. I would like to add more spices next time, they need just a little more kick. This recipe makes a lot of cookies, so if you don’t want a ton of cookies cut the recipe in half.

Ingredients:

1 cup vegetable oil
2 cup sugar
2 cups maple syrup
2 egg substitute (I used EnerG egg replacer)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
5 cups flour
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons nutmeg
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon all-spice
1 3/4 teaspoons salt
1 29 oz. can of pumpkin
2 cup vegan chocolate chips

Directions:

Beat oil, sugar, maple syrup and vanilla extract together in a bowl. Add egg substitute and beat well.

In a different bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and spices.

Add the sugar mixture alternately with the pumpkin to the flour mixture. Mix well after each addition.

Fold in the chocolate chips.

Drop by teaspoon (or use an ice cream scoop like I did, it works extremely well to create uniform size cookies) on a greased cookie sheet. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown at 350 degrees. These cookies turn out with a more cake like texture than cookie texture, so keep that in mind when determining if they are done or not.

Cookies right out of the oven.

Cookies right out of the oven.

These cookies are my favorite way to bake with pumpkin. What is your favorite way to bake with pumpkin?

 

One Response to “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies- Vegan Mofo Day #1”

  1. […] pumpkin chocolate chip cookies […]


Leave a Reply

