Vegan Princess in an Omni Kingdom

Adventures of a vegan girl living in an omni world.

Happy Herbivore Banana Bread- Vegan Mofo Day #15 October 15, 2011

Filed under: Baking,cookbook,Vegan Mofo 2011 — bookie85 @ 9:27 AM
Tags:

My parents are coming to visit this weekend and the one thing that I always do when they visit is make banana bread. You see, my Dad isn’t really a big supporter of my veganism, he doesn’t get it and he gives me (mostly good natured at this stage, over a year in) some crap about it. However, he still eats most of my food, especially the banana bread. I will have to forgive him asking me “if it is real banana bread.” Yup, Dad, those are real bananas.

This time I made the recipe out of The Happy Herbivore cookbook. The only thing I changed was adding cloves in addition to the cinnamon and nutmeg, simply because it is that time of year and I add that spice combo to everything. I am not sure I would do it again, as the spices sort of overwhelmed the taste of the bananas. I like the taste of those spices, but since I put in 5 bananas, I should be able to taste them more, as I usually can in banana bread.

Bread and the book the recipe came out of.

Bread and the book the recipe came out of.

So, while this isn’t my favorite version of banana bread, it is still good and I think my parents will eat it with no complaints. After all, who can argue with this?

Delicious, healthy, whole wheat banana bread goodness.

Delicious, healthy, whole wheat banana bread goodness.

What is your go-to recipe to please omni relatives?

 

One Response to “Happy Herbivore Banana Bread- Vegan Mofo Day #15”

  1. I like the idea of adding cloves!


Leave a Reply

