Vegan Princess in an Omni Kingdom

Adventures of a vegan girl living in an omni world.

Fundraiser Dinner – Vegan Mofo Day #18 October 18, 2011

Filed under: Vegan Mofo 2011 — bookie85 @ 9:41 PM

In July of this year, one of my coworkers was killed in a hit and run bike accident. It shocked my office, as he was one of the most involved members of our office, as he was on the facilities team, and being a nonprofit, that meant that he did a little bit of everything. In fact, he was the first person I ever met the day I interviewed at what is now my place of employment. What does this have to do with vegan food? Well, tonight we threw a benefit dinner for his family with the proceeds going to a college fund for his 2 children.

The entire event was donated from the space to the framing for the photographs we auctioned off, to the flowers on the table. Special shout out to Tom Douglas Catering, who donated all of the food, the space the event was held in, and the staff to serve the food.

I ate before I went to the event, as I figured it would be pretty standard fare as far as these type of events go, meaning not a vegan item on the menu. I sat down and looked.

Catering Menu

Catering Menu

I was right, nothing on that menu was vegan. Now, I happened to be seated at the same table as one of the organizers. When she wasn’t served a salad (that had cheese and caesar dressing) I gave her mine, explaining that I was vegan and wouldn’t eat it. She looks at me, and said “oh, there isn’t going to be anything on there that you can eat, is there?” When I said, that no there wasn’t, but that would be fine (it is a charity event, I am not about to make a fuss) she got up, talked to the catering manager and got them to make me a lovely dish of farrow with veggies cooked in veg stock instead of chicken stock. It was beautiful.

My special vegan food.

My special vegan food.

So, I guess this is the power of asking. You never know what you will get. This is also the power of my coworkers, who put together a lovely event for a man who didn’t deserve to have his life cut so short.

RIP Mike. Please know that we are trying our best to take care of your family, and we miss you very much.

 

Leave a Reply

