Vegan Princess in an Omni Kingdom

Adventures of a vegan girl living in an omni world.

Vegan Chili November 6, 2011

Filed under: Cooking,Family — bookie85 @ 7:24 PM
Tags: , ,

Last weekend I was down in my hometown for a consult with the oral surgeon for the wisdom teeth extraction I am having done this week. I had the appointment on Friday afternoon, but decided to stick around the rest of the weekend to hang out with my family. My Mom and I spent most of Saturday running errands and trying to come up with vegan options (besides salad) for the two of us to eat.

My Mom has started eating mostly vegan when she spends time with me, as she is discovering how much better she feels when she doesn’t eat meat or cheese. This is not from lectures from me, this isn’t even from giving her a book. It is simply from making awesome food for us when I am home, or she visits me in Seattle. Anyway, after settling for pizza with no cheese for lunch we decided that it would be far simpler to make a vegan chili in the crockpot at home for dinner than try any further to get decent options out in a restaurant.

We used this recipe with no avocado, and a chili mix instead of the individual spices. We also discovered that the amount of liquid the recipe calls for is far too much, it says 7 cups of veg broth or water, I would do maybe 5. The end result was far soupier than we had envisioned for chili. It was still spicy and delicious though, and we enjoyed it with whole wheat rolls. My Mom informed me via text message a couple days later that “Dad enjoyed the soup,” which I consider a high compliment.

Simmering away in the crockpot, 5 hours in to the cooking process.

Simmering away in the crockpot, 5 hours in to the cooking process.

I only wish that I had a crock pot in my kitchen, but with little counter space and hardly any outlets that don’t require appliances to be on the floor, it is probably an appliance better used at my parent’s house. Which means, chili for everyone when I come to town!

 

2 Responses to “Vegan Chili”

  1. MLE Says:

    And here I was thinking I was the only person who got their wisdom teeth out at age 27. Welcome to the club! 🙂


Leave a Reply

