Vegan Princess in an Omni Kingdom

Adventures of a vegan girl living in an omni world.

Chaco Canyon Cafe December 4, 2011

Filed under: restaurant,Seattle — bookie85 @ 10:02 PM

The other day I was struck by a craving for a grain bowl with tofu, sprouts, veggies and this amazing garlic tahini sauce. I had this meal once before, at Chaco Canyon Cafe in the University District neighborhood of Seattle. It had been a while since I had been there, so I texted my friend Megan and told her of my craving, and set dinner plans for Saturday night.

Chaco Canyon Cafe is an all organic, vegetarian cafe that specializes in grain bowls, freshly prepared juices, smoothies and raw food. They recently revamped the menu to make it easier to navigate and easier to customize your order to your specifications.

I decided not to customize and ordered straight from the menu, the small hippie bowl ($6.95) Now, small is subjective, I found myself so stuffed full with about half of the bowl left, but that was fine with me as it meant I had more to eat today! The bowl had a bed of quinoa topped with shredded carrots, sprouts, baked tofu and a sprinkling of sesame seeds, with a garlic tahini sauce. It was just as delicious as I remembered and will probably start a new obsession with tahini sauce on everything I eat.

Hippie bowl

Hippie bowl

I also got a 10 oz “immune boost” juice ($5.95) that had apple, pear, carrot, celery, parsley, and ginger. It was good, but the chunks of ginger in the bottom were a bit more than I could handle, but I am not a fan of eating straight ginger.

Immune Boost Juice

Immune Boost Juice

Megan built her own bowl (about $7.00) starting with brown rice, and adding kale, zucchini, carrots, tempeh bacon, and the garlic tahini sauce.

Megan's creation

Megan's creation

Megan also had a mug of tea, something with chamomile in it, she said it was good. Each drink has a name that isn’t necessarily reflective of what is in it, so the man who took our order was nice enough to look up what was in the blend of tea she ordered to make sure it wouldn’t be too much of a caffeine boost for 7pm.

After finishing (or almost finishing in my case) our dinners we both ordered a raw chocolate brownie ($5.95) to go. I had mine today, it had a nice rich chocolatey taste to it, nicely complemented by the nuts that topped it.

Raw chocolate brownie

Raw chocolate brownie

The food at Chaco Canyon Cafe is always fresh, delicious and something you can feel good about eating. It is a little on the pricey side, but it is worth it as you know you are paying for fresh, organic produce from local farmers.

Chaco Canyon Cafe is located at (corner of 50th & 12th) 4757 12th Ave NE
Seattle, WA 98105. They have a second location in West Seattle, at (corner of Alaska & 38th) 3770 SW Alaska St Seattle, WA 98126, but this review is for the University District location, as that is the only location I have been to.

 

4 Responses to “Chaco Canyon Cafe”

  1. Helen Says:

    Yum — I love Chaco Canyon! I just ate there for the first time in about a year a few days ago, and was a little bummed that they’d removed my favorite sandwich (a healthy-ish reuben) from their menu, but was still super pleased with what I ate (the lentil burger and some soup). The hippie bowl is one of my favorites! Now I want to go back 🙂

    • bookie85 Says:

      It has certainly reinvigorated my passion for healthy eating. I just prepared some quinoa for a bowl of my own creation for lunch tomorrow. If only I had space for a juicer, I would make my own juice as well. I will just have to settle for a smoothie in my non-fancy blender.

  2. I figured with a name like “simmer down” my tea would be caffeine free and it was! I am just not a huge fan of chamomile on its own. Their names are so enticing I forget to order the juice. I had the “peace tea” last time.

  3. I went to this place on my trip – I loved it! Celeste 🙂


Leave a Reply

