Vegan Princess in an Omni Kingdom

Adventures of a vegan girl living in an omni world.

Hottie Black Eyed Peas and Greens January 1, 2012

Filed under: cookbook,Cooking,Food,Holidays — bookie85 @ 10:09 PM
Tags: , , ,

Happy New Year! I decided this year was a good one to try the southern tradition of having black eyed peas and greens on New Year’s Day for health, wealth and prosperity. The tradition is collard greens and black eyed peas, but when I went to the store last night I could tell that I wasn’t the only one making this meal today. They had no collards and the bulk bin was almost out of black eyed peas. I got rainbow swiss chard and about a cup of black eyed peas and some hot sauce and went home to pick a recipe to make. I decided to make the “Hottie Black Eyed Peas and Greens” from Appetite for Reduction by Isa Chandra Moskowitz, since it seemed simple and more interesting than simply steaming some greens and making black eyed peas.

It went really well, I will be making this recipe every year I think. The greens were nice and soft, the beans were great, it was a nice touch to smash up part of them to thicken the sauce, it made for a great texture. I think next time I will add more hot sauce, I didn’t put in very much because I bought Siracha despite the warning to get a milder hot sauce and didn’t want to make it so spicy I wouldn’t eat it. I served it with the rice from last night’s Indian food and ate some leftover dumplings on the side, along with some champagne. I think it was a great start to 2012.

Black eyed peas and greens

Black eyed peas and greens

Happy New Year!

 

Leave a Reply

