Vegan Princess in an Omni Kingdom

Adventures of a vegan girl living in an omni world.

First Snowstorm Blueberry Cobbler January 15, 2012

Filed under: Baking,cookbook — bookie85 @ 9:25 PM
Tags: ,

It snowed today in Seattle. My parents came up to Seattle for a basketball game and stopped to take me to lunch first. When I woke up this morning, it wasn’t snowing at all, but by the time I left my apartment to go meet up with them, it had started.

Snow day

Snow day

Now, for parts of the country where is snows a lot (which isn’t very many places this year, thanks global warming) the maybe couple of inches we get once a year or so isn’t a big deal, but this is Seattle, the land of hills and people who freak out at the first sight of a flake of snow (case in point: my Mom who insisted that my father pack a shovel in the truck to “dig out” after the game). Now, I am not such a fan of the snow, but since it was kind enough to make an appearance on a 3 day weekend where I had nothing to do, I took the opportunity to finally make something out of Vegan Pie in the Sky by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero.

As I flipped through the pages, I hit page 84 and was struck by the description that said it was perfect for the first snowfall of the season. Well, who can argue with that? I modified a bit, as always, by not measuring the amount of blueberries I put in (2 bags seemed sufficient, it was overly sufficient, I will try less next time) and didn’t put in fresh lemon juice (bottled worked) and I didn’t have a lemon to zest, so I skipped that too (since another trip to the store in the blizzard was out of the question, heh).

Fresh out of the oven

Fresh out of the oven

It turned out really well. In fact, it is half gone, so I would call it a success. I will be making this one again, and trying out different fruit combinations in addition to blueberry.

 

4 Responses to “First Snowstorm Blueberry Cobbler”

  1. I’m so jealous of your snow storm! That blueberry cobbler looks like the perfect thing for a snowy day.

    • bookie85 Says:

      I wouldn’t be too jealous, it is already partly gone, unless we get more overnight. The cobbler was great, it will make a wonderful breakfast tomorrow morning.

  2. i can’t see the pie! i’ve been following the weather and i’ve been a little nervous about the recent dip, but i know i’ll get used to it b/c it can’t be worse than all the snow storms in NY two years ago!

    • bookie85 Says:

      I am not sure why you can’t see the cobbler, the picture is showing up for me. The weather only gets this cold for a little while each year, it doesn’t typically stick around for months and months like back East. All of the snow has melted where I am, which is typical for Seattle.


Leave a Reply

