Vegan Princess in an Omni Kingdom

Adventures of a vegan girl living in an omni world.

Anti-Headache Diet Days 4 and 5 October 5, 2012

Filed under: Eat to Live,Health,Vegan Mofo 2012 — bookie85 @ 7:03 PM
Tags: , ,

I think I am starting to get the hang of this and have spent the past couple days almost completely headache free, and what little headache I did get was very minor in comparison with the migraines I have been getting. Which happened just in time for my insurance to finally approve my having “just twelve pills a month” of the new migraine meds my doctor wants me to take if I feel a migraine coming on. I really hope to not have anywhere near twelve migraines a month with all the diet changes I am working on.

Speaking of diet, what fun things did I eat the last couple days? Not much, really, but here are a couple photos of my lunches from yesterday and today.

Brown rice pasta with tomato sauce and veggies.
Brown rice pasta with tomato sauce and veggies.

That dish is brown rice pasta with tomato sauce, red peppers, mushrooms and carrots. It was OK, the brown rice pasta got mushy when I reheated it and I didn’t cook the peppers long enough, but it had substance at least.

Garden vegetable soup
Garden vegetable soup

This is a bowl of the garden vegetable soup I picked up at Whole Foods. It was packed with veggies, and the ingredient label said it had soy in it, but I think it was a very little bit, and it was from soybeans, not soy protein isolate.

So, even if my meals aren’t exciting, at least this diet seems to be working.

 

8 Responses to “Anti-Headache Diet Days 4 and 5”

  1. Mandee Says:

    I just discovered your blog so I’ll have to go back and read more about this anti-headache diet but I feel your pain. I have suffered from headaches and migraines since I was a kid but I have found that eating vega, gluten and soy free has helped a lot.

  2. Stephanie Says:

    Glad things are coming along! I have a friend who has had a migraine since our senior year of high school. She’s been through many clinical trials and every once in a while I check to see how she’s doing. They’re really trying to get to the bottom of what causes these. I certainly hope they make a breakthrough as I had no idea how widespread the issue was. Be well!

    • bookie85 Says:

      They are a lot of people suffering from them, since I started writing about my quest to figure out my triggers I have learned that several of my friends are also migraine suffers. I am grateful for the little that science has discovered so far.

  3. glad you’re feeling better! 🙂

  4. sarahappifanie Says:

    12 a month! That’s evil. Even though I don’t want to have to have that many a month, I want to know the pills are there if I need them. Though I’ve been extra migraine-y lately (I think it’s the seasons changing and I’m using a different allergy pill) I still try not to take that many.

    • bookie85 Says:

      They did give me a half refill so I can get six more and then make haste to my doctor to talk about another solution if I end up using that many.


Leave a Reply

