Vegan Princess in an Omni Kingdom

Adventures of a vegan girl living in an omni world.

(Mostly) Homemade Pizza- Vegan Mofo Day #5 October 5, 2011

Filed under: Cooking,Food,Vegan Mofo 2011 — bookie85 @ 8:47 PM
Tags:

I was at Safeway the other day and I discovered that they have expanded their vegan options, including finally having Daiya (but not the pepperjack kind). I bought the two kinds they did have and decided to make pizza later in the week. Safeway does not however have the other things I needed to make vegan pizza (well, some of them, but not the pizza dough I wanted) so I had to do a Whole Foods run to get the rest of the ingredients.

Making pizza is pretty easy, especially if you buy the dough. I got the frozen kind from Whole Foods.

Frozen pizza dough.

Frozen pizza dough.

Roll the dough out and let it rise for 20 minutes.

Pizza dough rolled out and rising.

Pizza dough rolled out and rising.

Add sauce, Daiya, and Tofurky pepperoni.

Sauce, cheese and pepperoni.

Sauce, cheese and pepperoni.

Add whatever veggies you want, this time I put olives, mushrooms and red peppers.

Pizza just before it went in the oven.

Pizza just before it went in the oven.

Bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees or until the crust is golden brown and the cheese is melted.

Fresh out of the oven!

Fresh out of the oven!

What are your favorite pizza toppings?

 

4 Responses to “(Mostly) Homemade Pizza- Vegan Mofo Day #5”

  1. Jojo Says:

    Woah, you can buy frozen pizza dough? That’s awesome! You used to be able to buy a vegan pizza base here but the store seems to have discontinued them so now I have to make my own!

    • bookie85 Says:

      Whole Foods has frozen dough, Metropolitan Market (local Puget Sound region chain) has some from Essential Baking Company and Trader Joe’s has a refrigerated version as well.

  2. That looks dee-lish. My favourite toppings are:
    Caramelised onions
    Mushrooms
    Olives
    Avocado
    Crumbled tofu or Hummus (in place of cheese)

    Now I want pizza!


Leave a comment